Northern Lantern House Labs

Seattle, WA

Canlis

Seattle destination dining with a formal multi-course format, major wine cellar, and a more flexible lounge alternative.

Read from

canlis.com

Three pages, all on their own domain.

Last official read 5 August 2026. A later corpus refresh is not a new read of this page.

Never stated

3 things the restaurant has not put in writing

Live reservation availability; exact current accessibility route and restroom configuration; individual dietary suitability.

A blank means nobody said it; it never means we filled it in.

Two of the restaurant's own pages disagree. Both claims are kept; neither is quietly dropped.

Seattle, WAConflicting official informationAllergen practice publishedBest recorded use: Celebration

Tonight at Canlis

What Deep Dish knows

Kitchen
Cocktail / lounge · Fine dining · Wine-forward
Format
tasting / set menu; dining room plus a separate lounge menu
Spend
Premium planning band
Booking
Dining-room reservations are released in scheduled monthly windows through Tock.
Menu
Published on canlis.com
Source
canlis.com
Allergen practice published3 fields never stated

What do you need?

Dietary

Before you order

Allergen practice published

The restaurant has written something down about allergens or cross-contact, and it is quoted below in their words. Nobody here has watched their kitchen, so treat it as the claim it is and confirm anything a diner at your table cannot be wrong about.

Certain foundational ingredients cannot be removed, and cross-contact cannot be guaranteed.
The restaurant’s own words, from the dietaryDetails field

None of this is an allergen guarantee. Deep Dish records what a restaurant published and when it was read, and verifies nothing about a kitchen.

Canlis at dusk: the midcentury glass-walled dining room lit from within, seen from outside through evergreens.
Restaurant-owned photograph · 2026-08-31

Restaurant-owned photograph · 2026-08-31

Why go

Seattle destination dining with a formal multi-course format, major wine cellar, and a more flexible lounge alternative.

No signature dish is named on the restaurant's own pages. Format on file: tasting / set menu; dining room plus a separate lounge menu.

Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts… Private or semi-private path is on file.

Before you book

Why go, what to order, what it costs, what the room is like, whether it fits tonight, and what you still need to confirm. Where an answer says the restaurant has never stated it, that is their silence being reported, not a gap we intend to fill.

  1. 01Is the food actually good?

    On file

    The restaurant describes itself as Seattle destination dining with a formal multi-course format, major wine cellar, and a more flexible lounge alternative. That is the restaurant's own description, not a review consensus. Deep Dish does not rank food quality from public reviews.

    Restaurant-owned description · not a quality verdict

  2. 02Is it worth the money?

    On file

    Published tasting is $185 per guest, plus a stated 20% service charge (about $222 before drinks). That is the restaurant's published figure, not a value verdict.

    Restaurant-owned pricing

  3. 03What is the overall experience?

    On file

    Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts walk-ins. Diner-facing tags on file: upscale, view, lounge path.

    Restaurant-owned atmosphere + recorded bands

  4. 04What do other people think?

    Never stated

    Deep Dish does not collect diner reviews and does not rank rooms by them. What other people think is not a first-party field. Ask people you trust, or confirm with the restaurant.

    Not a first-party field

  5. 05How good is the service?

    On file

    Stated service format: Tuesday-Saturday dinner service with a reservation-led multi-course dining room and a walk-in lounge path. That is the restaurant's own description, not a diner-experience pattern.

    Restaurant-stated format

  6. 06How convenient is it?

    On file

    Dining-room reservations are released in scheduled monthly windows through Tock. Parking and transit details were not published on the reviewed first-party pages… Plan for a lengthy multi-course dinner.

    Booking, arrival, meal length, access

  7. 07What should we ask before ordering?

    On file

    The restaurant publishes vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free, and gluten-free modifications. Before you order: confirm the live kitchen rule with the restaurant.

    Restaurant-owned dietary language

  8. 08What is the menu like?

    On file

    No signature dish is named on the restaurant's own pages. Format on file: tasting / set menu; dining room plus a separate lounge menu. Drinks: large, award-winning wine program, full lounge service, cocktails, and a separate lounge menu.

    Restaurant-owned menu language

  9. 09Is it clean and trustworthy?

    Never stated

    The health-inspection layer is empty in this build, so this restaurant has not been checked against one. Cleanliness here comes from an inspection record or from nothing at all. Public reviews are not used as a cleanliness signal.

    Conservative — inspection layer not loaded

  10. 10What makes it different?

    On file

    Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts… Private or semi-private path is on file.

    From culinary identity, room, and format on the case file

Table intelligence

What the room is like, what to order and what it costs — each claim taken from the restaurant's own pages or a directory location fact, never from a review sample.

What to order

No dish is named on the restaurant’s own pages. Ask what the kitchen is known for when you call — this is a gap in the file, not a verdict on the food.

Menu formatPublished six-course dining experience with optional supplements, full wine program, cocktails, and a separate lounge menu.

What it costs

The current six-course dining experience is published at $185 per guest, with optional supplements and a 20% service charge.

When you can go

Dinner is served Tuesday through Saturday evenings beginning at 5 PM. The lounge accepts walk-ins.No machine-readable schedule is held, so the instrument cannot tell you whether this room is serving right now.

The tradeoff

Restaurant-owned pages

Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts walk-ins.

OccasionMajor celebration; anniversary; destination dinner; wine-focused evening; polished business dinner.

Public reviews are not summarised here. What the room is like comes from what the restaurant published.

Getting there

Address
2576 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109
Coordinate
No coordinate is held. Deep Dish cannot state a distance to this room.
Step-free
Not stated on any source held.

The room

Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts walk-ins.

DressThe restaurant encourages guests to dress up and asks that dining-room guests avoid T-shirts and shorts.

Decision brief

The file is still limited

Situation fit68
Evidence confidence49
Confirm burden85
Fit
Reads 68/100 against a partial situation. Strongest recorded use: celebration. Add an occasion to sharpen this.
Evidence
The fields this brief uses are stated on the restaurant's own pages.
What you still need to ask
1 critical risk: review window has lapsed. 1 watch item, 7 residual unknowns carried forward.
Confirm burden
Confirm burden 85/100 · planning load Heavy · one official conflict open · reviewed 2026-08-05, next 2026-08-12.

Before you choose it

Seattle destination dining with a formal multi-course format, major wine cellar, and a more flexible lounge alternative. That is what the restaurant says it does, read off its own pages.

Food & menu
Seattle destination dining with a formal multi-course format, major wine cellar, and a more flexible lounge alternative. Published six-course dining experience with optional supplements, full wine program, cocktails, and a separate lounge…
Spend / value
Published from $185 per guest before drinks; about $222 once the 20% service charge is included. Confirm live before you commit — price is volatile.
Experience
Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts walk-ins. Room read: formal.
Best fit
Major celebration; anniversary; destination dinner.
Convenience
Dining-room reservations are released in scheduled monthly windows through Tock. Plan for a lengthy multi-course dinner. Parking and transit details were not published on the reviewed first-party…
Dietary
The restaurant publishes vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free, and gluten-free modifications. A menu marker is not a guarantee of allergy safety — confirm the live kitchen rule.

Recommended next action

Ask the restaurant about the unpublished fields before you commit. Call (206) 283-3313 in one pass and clear every critical item below; book only after they resolve.

When you are ready

Send Canlis to the night plan in Occasion OS, where the rest of the night is being built. Rejected rooms and browsing stay here.

Send this room to the night plan in Occasion OS

What you still need to ask — in order

  1. 01Re-read the official pages before using this record for a decision.
  2. 02Call (206) 283-3313 and ask the conflicted field as a direct question. Keep both recorded claims visible until sources converge; do not adopt the friendlier one.
Official conflict preservedBoth claims remain on the record. Nothing has been collapsed to the friendlier statement.
Why it ranked where it did

Why it ranked here

Fit 68 of 100

This is the opening score for the occasion — 68 of 100 — and nothing you have told us so far has moved it up or down.

Add the party size, your budget ceiling, when you are arriving or where you are coming from, and every term that changes this number will be listed here.

What Deep Dish is watching

For this night

Critical

1
  • Criticalevidence · impact 78 · high confidence

    Review window has lapsed

    Last first-party review 2026-08-05; window closed 2026-08-12.

    DoRe-read the official pages before using this record for a decision.

Watch

1
  • Watchevidence · impact 84 · high confidence

    Official sources conflict — both claims preserved

    Retain each source, date and field conflict; do not select the more favorable statement without evidence.

    DoCall (206) 283-3313 and ask the conflicted field as a direct question. Keep both recorded claims visible until sources converge; do not adopt the friendlier one.

Unknown

7
  • Unknownbooking · impact 34 · moderate confidence

    Booking is competitive; your lead time is unstated

    Dining-room reservations are released in scheduled monthly windows through Tock. A deposit and 48-hour cancellation policy apply. The lounge welcomes walk-ins. Commitment terms from the restaurant's own pages: Cancellations If you need to cancel a reservation for any reason you may do so forty-eight hours in advance and we will issue a full refund of your deposit. · The reservation becomes non-refundable two days prior to your booking.

    DoAdd a date to the situation console to rank this record honestly.

  • Unknowndietary · impact 26 · high confidence

    Dietary handling requires direct confirmation

    The restaurant publishes vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free, and gluten-free modifications. Certain foundational ingredients cannot be removed, and cross-contact cannot be guaranteed.

    DoConfirm before inviting anyone with a restriction.

  • Unknownaccess · impact 24 · high confidence

    Access honesty marker: route unstated

    Detailed physical-access route and restroom information were not stated in the reviewed first-party pages.

    DoAsk only if a guest needs it; the record does not claim accessibility either way.

  • Unknownresidual · impact 20 · high confidence

    Live reservation availability

    Recorded as unknown at the last first-party review; not inferred, not filled.

    DoCarry into the confirmation call if it bears on your night.

  • Unknownresidual · impact 20 · high confidence

    Exact current accessibility route and restroom configuration

    Recorded as unknown at the last first-party review; not inferred, not filled.

    DoCarry into the confirmation call if it bears on your night.

  • Unknownresidual · impact 20 · high confidence

    Individual dietary suitability

    Recorded as unknown at the last first-party review; not inferred, not filled.

    DoCarry into the confirmation call if it bears on your night.

  • Unknownarrival · impact 18 · high confidence

    Parking and transit unstated

    Parking and transit details were not published on the reviewed first-party pages; confirm access for your arrival window.

    DoLow stakes here; check a map before you leave.

Restaurant sources

What the restaurant publishes

Pages read

Every line in the table below came from one of these sources. None of it was assembled out of other people’s reviews.

Never stated

3 things the restaurant has never published. Listed rather than filled in. Each one is a question worth asking before you commit to the table.

  • Live reservation availability
  • exact current accessibility route and restroom configuration
  • individual dietary suitability
Service
Tuesday-Saturday dinner service with a reservation-led multi-course dining room and a walk-in lounge path. Service format from the restaurant's own pages: It features a full-service bar, dining-room views, wrap-around views of Lake Union and the Cascade Mountains, and a baby grand piano.
Menu
Published six-course dining experience with optional supplements, full wine program, cocktails, and a separate lounge menu.
Occasion fit
Major celebration; anniversary; destination dinner; wine-focused evening; polished business dinner.
Hours
Dinner is served Tuesday through Saturday evenings beginning at 5 PM. The lounge accepts walk-ins.
Reservations
Dining-room reservations are released in scheduled monthly windows through Tock. A deposit and 48-hour cancellation policy apply. The lounge welcomes walk-ins. Commitment terms from the restaurant's own pages: Cancellations If you need to cancel a reservation for any reason you may do so forty-eight hours in advance and we will issue a full refund of your deposit. · The reservation becomes non-refundable two days prior to your booking.
Price
The current six-course dining experience is published at $185 per guest, with optional supplements and a 20% service charge.
Dietary
The restaurant publishes vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free, and gluten-free modifications. Certain foundational ingredients cannot be removed, and cross-contact cannot be guaranteed.
Beverage
Large, award-winning wine program, full lounge service, cocktails, and a separate lounge menu.
Groups & private
Best suited to planned special-occasion dining. Private-event options are available through the restaurant. Seating evidence from the restaurant's own pages: This private space is on our main level and features a fireplace and North and East views of Lake Union and the Cascade Mountains through 10-foot-high windows. · Children All ages are welcome in our dining room but we ask that children be prepared for a lengthy dining experience.
Atmosphere
Formal, highly serviced modern dining room with views of Lake Union and the Cascades; the lounge is looser and accepts walk-ins.
Accessibility
The restaurant has never said.
Parking & transit
Parking and transit details were not published on the reviewed first-party pages; confirm access for your arrival window.
Dress
The restaurant encourages guests to dress up and asks that dining-room guests avoid T-shirts and shorts.
Typical meal length
Plan for a lengthy multi-course dinner.
Practical notes
Choose between the reservation-only dining experience and the walk-in lounge before arriving. Review the deposit, cancellation, attire, and dietary policies before booking.
Address
2576 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109
Conflicting information
Retain each source, date and field conflict; do not select the more favorable statement without evidence.
Source quality
Official restaurant website / first-party page
Confidence
moderate_with_conflict
Freshness
CURRENT_WITH_OFFICIAL_CONFLICTS
Likely to change
Availability, dietary and cross-contact claims require same-cycle confirmation; hours, reservations and price are reviewed within 7 days; menu and access statements within 31 days.
What to verify next
Sources reachable as of 2026-08-05; official conflicts still open — do not collapse to friendlier claim. Reconfirm live before booking.

Night plan is empty — compare places you already have, name tonight’s restaurant, or find one by market.