Northern Lantern House Labs

Portland, OR

Kann

Live-fire Haitian cooking filtered through Pacific Northwest ingredients, built for shared plates and celebration energy.

Read from

kannrestaurant.com

Three pages: 2 on their own domain, the rest on resy.com.

Last official read 5 August 2026. A later corpus refresh is not a new read of this page.

Never stated

3 things the restaurant has not put in writing

Live availability; detailed physical-access route and restroom configuration; suitability for restrictions beyond the published accommodations.

A blank means nobody said it; it never means we filled it in.

Two of the restaurant's own pages disagree. Both claims are kept; neither is quietly dropped.

Portland, ORConflicting official informationDietary options onlyBest recorded use: Date night

Tonight at Kann

What Deep Dish knows

Kitchen
Caribbean · Pacific Northwest · Plant-forward
Format
tasting / set menu; shared plates
Spend
Premium planning band
Booking
Reservations are released monthly through Resy.
Menu
Published on kannrestaurant.com
Source
kannrestaurant.com
Dietary options only3 fields never stated

What do you need?

Dietary

Before you order

Dietary options only

The menu marks dietary options, but the restaurant has published nothing about how the kitchen keeps them apart. A vegetarian, vegan or gluten-free marker is not a celiac or severe-allergy protocol. Ask the restaurant directly if that distinction matters for your table.

The entire menu is published as gluten- and dairy-free.
The restaurant’s own words, from the dietaryDetails field

None of this is an allergen guarantee. Deep Dish records what a restaurant published and when it was read, and verifies nothing about a kitchen.

Identity mark (tasting), drawn from cuisine and room signals recorded for Kann.

Why go

Live-fire Haitian cooking filtered through Pacific Northwest ingredients, built for shared plates and celebration energy.

No signature dish is named on the restaurant's own pages. Format on file: tasting / set menu; shared plates.

Before you book

Why go, what to order, what it costs, what the room is like, whether it fits tonight, and what you still need to confirm. Where an answer says the restaurant has never stated it, that is their silence being reported, not a gap we intend to fill.

  1. 01Is the food actually good?

    On file

    The restaurant describes itself as Live-fire Haitian cooking filtered through Pacific Northwest ingredients, built for shared plates and celebration energy. That is the restaurant's own description, not a review consensus. Deep Dish does not rank food quality from public reviews.

    Restaurant-owned description · not a quality verdict

  2. 02Is it worth the money?

    On file

    Published price is $40 per guest, plus a stated 22% service charge (about $49 before drinks). That is the restaurant's published figure, not a value verdict.

    Restaurant-owned pricing

  3. 03What is the overall experience?

    On file

    Energetic live-fire dining room built around Haitian cooking and Pacific Northwest ingredients. Diner-facing tags on file: casual, high energy.

    Restaurant-owned atmosphere + recorded bands

  4. 04What do other people think?

    Never stated

    Deep Dish does not collect diner reviews and does not rank rooms by them. What other people think is not a first-party field. Ask people you trust, or confirm with the restaurant.

    Not a first-party field

  5. 05How good is the service?

    On file

    Stated service format: Wednesday-Sunday dinner with monthly Resy releases, limited walk-ins, and tightly controlled party sizes. That is the restaurant's own description, not a diner-experience pattern.

    Restaurant-stated format

  6. 06How convenient is it?

    On file

    Reservations are released monthly through Resy. Street parking is available on several nearby streets per the official FAQ. Shared-plate dinner typically runs about two hours once seated.

    Booking, arrival, meal length, access

  7. 07What should we ask before ordering?

    On file

    The entire menu is published as gluten- and dairy-free. Before you order: confirm the live kitchen rule with the restaurant.

    Restaurant-owned dietary language

  8. 08What is the menu like?

    On file

    No signature dish is named on the restaurant's own pages. Format on file: tasting / set menu; shared plates. Drinks: cocktail-forward program with wine and beer supporting live-fire plates.

    Restaurant-owned menu language

  9. 09Is it clean and trustworthy?

    Never stated

    The health-inspection layer is empty in this build, so this restaurant has not been checked against one. Cleanliness here comes from an inspection record or from nothing at all. Public reviews are not used as a cleanliness signal.

    Conservative — inspection layer not loaded

  10. 10What makes it different?

    Never stated

    Nothing distinctive is stated beyond generic room language. Deep Dish will not fill that with 'great atmosphere and delicious food.'

    Not on file

Table intelligence

What the room is like, what to order and what it costs — each claim taken from the restaurant's own pages or a directory location fact, never from a review sample.

What to order

No dish is named on the restaurant’s own pages. Ask what the kitchen is known for when you call — this is a gap in the file, not a verdict on the food.

Menu formatHaitian and Pacific Northwest live-fire cooking; the restaurant publishes a gluten- and dairy-free menu with a vegan path on request.

What it costs

Entree prices change with the seasonal board and were not published as fixed dollar figures on the retrieved first-party pages. Official FAQs state a $40 corkage fee per 750ml bottle and a 22% service charge for parties of 5 or more.

When you can go

Official restaurant hours: Wednesday and Sunday 4-7 PM; Thursday-Saturday 4-9:30 PM; closed Monday and Tuesday.No machine-readable schedule is held, so the instrument cannot tell you whether this room is serving right now.

The tradeoff

Restaurant-owned pages

Energetic live-fire dining room built around Haitian cooking and Pacific Northwest ingredients.

OccasionCelebration dinner; adventurous group meal; destination dining; shared-table experience.

Public reviews are not summarised here. What the room is like comes from what the restaurant published.

Getting there

Address
548 SE Ash St, Portland, OR 97214
Coordinate
No coordinate is held. Deep Dish cannot state a distance to this room.
Step-free
Not stated on any source held.

The room

Energetic live-fire dining room built around Haitian cooking and Pacific Northwest ingredients.

DressNo required dress code; the restaurant notes that many guests choose business casual and encourages vibrant color and prints.

Decision brief

The file is still limited

Situation fit64
Evidence confidence45
Confirm burden89
Fit
Reads 64/100 against a partial situation. Strongest recorded use: date night. Add an occasion to sharpen this.
Evidence
Weakest coverage: Price. Those fields were not published, so they are not filled in.
What you still need to ask
1 critical risk: review window has lapsed. 1 watch item, 6 residual unknowns carried forward.
Confirm burden
Confirm burden 89/100 · planning load Heavy · one official conflict open · reviewed 2026-08-05, next 2026-08-12.

Before you choose it

Live-fire Haitian cooking filtered through Pacific Northwest ingredients, built for shared plates and celebration energy. That is what the restaurant says it does, read off its own pages.

Food & menu
Live-fire Haitian cooking filtered through Pacific Northwest ingredients, built for shared plates and celebration energy. Haitian and Pacific Northwest live-fire cooking; the restaurant publishes a gluten- and dairy-free menu with a vegan…
Spend / value
Published from $40 per guest before drinks; about $49 once the 22% service charge is included. Corkage stated at $40. Confirm live before you commit — price is volatile.
Experience
Energetic live-fire dining room built around Haitian cooking and Pacific Northwest ingredients. Room read: casual, high energy, slower pacing.
Best fit
Celebration dinner; adventurous group meal; destination dining.
Convenience
Reservations are released monthly through Resy. Shared-plate dinner typically runs about two hours once seated. Street parking is available on several nearby streets per the official FAQ.
Dietary
Vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free options are published. That is not a statement that the kitchen can handle a severe allergy or celiac visit.

Recommended next action

Ask the restaurant about price before you commit. Call (971) 489-2202 in one pass and clear every critical item below; book only after they resolve.

When you are ready

Send Kann to the night plan in Occasion OS, where the rest of the night is being built. Rejected rooms and browsing stay here.

Send this room to the night plan in Occasion OS

What you still need to ask — in order

  1. 01Re-read the official pages before using this record for a decision.
  2. 02Call (971) 489-2202 and ask the conflicted field as a direct question. Keep both recorded claims visible until sources converge; do not adopt the friendlier one.
Official conflict preservedBoth claims remain on the record. Nothing has been collapsed to the friendlier statement.
Why it ranked where it did

Why it ranked here

Fit 64 of 100

This is the opening score for the occasion — 64 of 100 — and nothing you have told us so far has moved it up or down.

Add the party size, your budget ceiling, when you are arriving or where you are coming from, and every term that changes this number will be listed here.

What Deep Dish is watching

For this night

Critical

1
  • Criticalevidence · impact 78 · high confidence

    Review window has lapsed

    Last first-party review 2026-08-05; window closed 2026-08-12.

    DoRe-read the official pages before using this record for a decision.

Watch

1
  • Watchevidence · impact 84 · high confidence

    Official sources conflict — both claims preserved

    Retain each source, date and field conflict; do not select the more favorable statement without evidence.

    DoCall (971) 489-2202 and ask the conflicted field as a direct question. Keep both recorded claims visible until sources converge; do not adopt the friendlier one.

Unknown

6
  • Unknownbooking · impact 34 · moderate confidence

    Booking is competitive; your lead time is unstated

    Reservations are released monthly through Resy. Limited walk-in seating may be available. Party-size changes and late cancellations can trigger per-person charges. Commitment terms from the restaurant's own pages: A six-course tasting menu was offered -- complete with wine, beer, or zero-proof pairings.

    DoAdd a date to the situation console to rank this record honestly.

  • Unknowndietary · impact 26 · high confidence

    Dietary handling requires direct confirmation

    The entire menu is published as gluten- and dairy-free. A vegan menu is available on request, but alliums, capsaicin, and cilantro cannot be removed from much of the menu.

    DoConfirm before inviting anyone with a restriction.

  • Unknownaccess · impact 24 · high confidence

    Access honesty marker: route unstated

    Detailed physical-access route and restroom information were not stated in the reviewed first-party pages.

    DoAsk only if a guest needs it; the record does not claim accessibility either way.

  • Unknownresidual · impact 20 · high confidence

    Live availability

    Recorded as unknown at the last first-party review; not inferred, not filled.

    DoCarry into the confirmation call if it bears on your night.

  • Unknownresidual · impact 20 · high confidence

    Detailed physical-access route and restroom configuration

    Recorded as unknown at the last first-party review; not inferred, not filled.

    DoCarry into the confirmation call if it bears on your night.

  • Unknownresidual · impact 20 · high confidence

    Suitability for restrictions beyond the published accommodations

    Recorded as unknown at the last first-party review; not inferred, not filled.

    DoCarry into the confirmation call if it bears on your night.

Restaurant sources

What the restaurant publishes

Pages read

Every line in the table below came from one of these sources. None of it was assembled out of other people’s reviews.

Never stated

3 things the restaurant has never published. Listed rather than filled in. Each one is a question worth asking before you commit to the table.

  • Live availability
  • detailed physical-access route and restroom configuration
  • suitability for restrictions beyond the published accommodations
Service
Wednesday-Sunday dinner with monthly Resy releases, limited walk-ins, and tightly controlled party sizes. Service format from the restaurant's own pages: A six-course tasting menu was offered -- complete with wine, beer, or zero-proof pairings.
Menu
Haitian and Pacific Northwest live-fire cooking; the restaurant publishes a gluten- and dairy-free menu with a vegan path on request.
Occasion fit
Celebration dinner; adventurous group meal; destination dining; shared-table experience.
Hours
Official restaurant hours: Wednesday and Sunday 4-7 PM; Thursday-Saturday 4-9:30 PM; closed Monday and Tuesday.
Reservations
Reservations are released monthly through Resy. Limited walk-in seating may be available. Party-size changes and late cancellations can trigger per-person charges. Commitment terms from the restaurant's own pages: A six-course tasting menu was offered -- complete with wine, beer, or zero-proof pairings.
Price
Entree prices change with the seasonal board and were not published as fixed dollar figures on the retrieved first-party pages. Official FAQs state a $40 corkage fee per 750ml bottle and a 22% service charge for parties of 5 or more.
Dietary
The entire menu is published as gluten- and dairy-free. A vegan menu is available on request, but alliums, capsaicin, and cilantro cannot be removed from much of the menu.
Beverage
Cocktail-forward program with wine and beer supporting live-fire plates.
Groups & private
Family-style sharing works well for small groups; party size is tightly tied to the booked table and cannot simply be expanded. Seating evidence from the restaurant's own pages: Our private dining room upstairs above kann ’s main restaurant can accommodate groups of up to 36 guests.
Atmosphere
Energetic live-fire dining room built around Haitian cooking and Pacific Northwest ingredients.
Accessibility
The restaurant has never said.
Parking & transit
Street parking is available on several nearby streets per the official FAQ.
Dress
No required dress code; the restaurant notes that many guests choose business casual and encourages vibrant color and prints.
Typical meal length
Shared-plate dinner typically runs about two hours once seated.
Practical notes
Book for the correct party size, review the cancellation terms, and discuss restrictions before the meal. This is dine-in only.
Address
548 SE Ash St, Portland, OR 97214
Conflicting information
Retain each source, date and field conflict; do not select the more favorable statement without evidence.
Source quality
Official restaurant website / first-party page
Confidence
moderate_with_conflict
Freshness
CURRENT_WITH_OFFICIAL_CONFLICTS
Likely to change
Availability, dietary and cross-contact claims require same-cycle confirmation; hours, reservations and price are reviewed within 7 days; menu and access statements within 31 days.
What to verify next
Sources reachable as of 2026-08-05; official conflicts still open — do not collapse to friendlier claim. Reconfirm live before booking.

Night plan is empty — compare places you already have, name tonight’s restaurant, or find one by market.